Schedule

10:00-10:15am | Ceire Hay, Student "Interrogating mechanisms of CD8 T cell dysfunction in obese asthma"

10:15–10:30am | Shuruthi Murugan, Student "Neutral and Terminal Phosphide Complex of Niobium"

> **10:30–11:30am** | Power Hour Sage Rush and Sana Saeed

11:30-11:45am | Coffee Break

11:45-12:00pm | Erin Jean, Student "Understanding the mechanisms of immunity against percutaneous infection by a skin-penetrating Helminth"

12:00–12:15pm | Crystal Conn, Faculty "A balancing act: regulating mRNA translation for cancer progression"

12:15-1:15pm | Lunch

1:15-2:15pm | Poster Session

2:15-2:30pm | Coffee Break

2:30-2:45pm | Stephanie Weirich, Faculty "A Logical Approach to Programming Language Design and Verification"

2:45–3:00pm | Zahra Fakhraai, Faculty "Controlling material properties through entropy"

3:00-3:15pm | Hanna Roenfanz, Student "Honokiol-Inspired Analogs as Antibacterial Agents against ESKAPE Pathogens"

> **3:15–3:30pm |** Sunny Shin. Faculty "Innate immune defense against bacterial infection"

> > 3:30-3:45pm | Coffee Break

3:45-4:45pm | Key Note Address Sharona Gordon "Lighting the way: fluorescence lifetimes, protein dynamics, and my journey out of darkness"

4:45-6:00pm | Reception

Thank you to our sponsors:

Penn Women+ in Chemistry Penn Graduate Women in Science and Engineering SASGov Pfizer Association for Women in Science Philadelphia Eli Lilly Penn Biochemistry and Biophysics Department Bristol Myers Squibb

Special thanks to our organizers:

Paris Watson Hoan Anh Phan Jean Etersque Alison Knasin Alejandra Fausto Margarita Tararina Cassandra Vu Ivy Dai Xifan Su Ziao Lu

and to the administrators of the

Chemistry Dept.,Biochemistry Dept., School of Engineering, SAS, BGS, PSOM

Women in

Research Symposium

atRen

June 3rd, 2022

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Sharona Gordon Physiology and Biophysics University of Washington

Power Hour Guest Speakers

Sage Rush Neurodevelopment and Psychosis Section and Lifespan Brain Institute Sana Saeed

Penn Chaplin's Office

Faculty Speakers

Dr. Crystal Conn Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology Department of Radiation Oncology

Dr. Stephanie Weirich ENIAC President's Distinguished Professor of Computer and Information Science School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

> **Dr. Zahra Fakhraai** Associate Professor of Chemistry Department of Chemistry.

Dr. Sunny Shin Associate Professor of Microbiology Penn Institute for Immunology

Student Speakers

Ceire Hay Immunology Graduate Group, PSOM

Shuruthi Murugan Department of Chemistry, SAS

Erin Jean Department of Pathobiology, Veterinary Med.

> Hanna Roenfanz Department Chemistry, SAS

Poster Presenters

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.